top of page

What's the first step in a digital life?

Someone recently asked me what's the first step in updating my home and bringing it into the digital age. After much research into new products, old products and bizarre products I was left scratching my head. Then it dawned on me. Under my finger tips the entire time yet completely overlooked. The Apple iPad.

I know people have battled Android vs Apple for decades. I have owned both and love the features of both. However, in the world of home audio and automation, the Apple iPad (in my opinion), is the first purchase one should make.

Let's start by saying that your data enabled smart phone can do anything in regards to your home digital products. However, I'm a firm believer in products that don't fail, age slowly and are able to handle a plethora of technology. I also believe your digital home should have a hub of sorts to enable you and your family to access each of the needed applications. Generally, each digital home product comes with its own application (app) and some work under a combined app.

For argument purposes only I am going to discuss NEST products. A large portion of products communicate with each other, thus enhancing your life. These products are amazing digital solutions to problems home owners have. If I asked you where "comfort" lies in order of importance in a home, where would you rank it? For me it's pretty high. I don't want to freeze or sweat to death. What if I then asked you about your monthly energy bills? Now that's near the top. What about if I asked about your families safety? Again, at the top if you're anything like me.

NEST products can save you up to $500 a year in energy costs and can save your family from dangers such as fire and carbon monoxide. They run in the NEST app. They enable you to really understand how your life runs. They also learn you and your family. From built in motion sensors to a thermostat that automatically knows when you're gone, NEST is a must have.

However, NEST all but requires the use of a handheld computing device (iPad, Galaxy, etc). One that stores your data and gives you the ability to give feedback to the system. You'll need a dedicated device to switch channels, turn sound on or off, track how your cookies in the oven are doing and maybe even save your life by letting you know of a fire or intruder. While the components of these can be complicated to install, with the right technology delivering them to you, it's a lot less complicated.

So my advice for anyone looking to upgrade their house and bring it into the digital age, buy an Apple iPad first. You will thank me later.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page